#UOSM2018 Topic 3 Summary

Reflecting on creating an online professional profile has been, in short, difficult. With hundreds of potential approaches and thousands of criterias to meet it’s impossible to address the whole issue without either a book or massive generalisation e.g. if you want a good online profile participate in everything online perfectly. 

That would be useless though, so I think my approach of focusing in on two key issues was a good way of going about things however from both reading other people’s blogs and, more importantly this week, reading feedback on my blog I certainly neglected some important aspects of building an online profile. I think most notable was the comment from Yee-Ping who observed that my reliance on blogs was flawed given the lack of time most employers will spend reviewing candidates. Although my suggestion of a strong Twitter timeline would go some way to giving a good short term impression, a strong LinkedIn page is far more important. Given that I attached very little importance to LinkedIn in general, I’ve clearly overlooked a very important aspect.

Beyond this fault, I think my blog this week was my favorite so far. I’m finally beginning to get comfortable with the blogging style and how to communicate both substance and style through the medium. I also had the honour of having my blog tweeted to all of David Hall’s (@David_Hall) 31 thousand followers. For someone like David who has had so much success in the field of social media to tweet my blog was both exceptionally gratifying and proof (as if we needed it) that getting online is a great way to get yourself out there and reaching new people: the kind of people who may well want to employ you.

What a convenient conclusion for this Topic eh? 

Leave a comment